Monte Fitz Roy

Our first day in El Chalten was spent hiking up to the miradors (lookouts) within an hour or so of the town. Most of the landscape was barren, with only sparse pockets of trees and made it hard to create a textural composition that brought out the colors of autumn and those of the rocks. When I walked by this grouping I knew I’d found what I was looking for, set up my tripod and captured the shot. I’m sure Fitz Roy is beautiful in the summer, but there was something about the autumn that lends gravity to the scene. Maybe it’s the dropping temperatures, the rising wind, or just the suggestion of winter coming.

 

Leave a Reply

